Beta release 4.0b

Information and change log about the latest ZGameEditor release.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
rrTea
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:54 am

Doesn't detect errors

Postby rrTea » Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:41 am

To me this looks like it shouldn't compile, but it does (note the last line):

int sum;
for(int i=0; i<10; i++)
{if(i>=5)continue;
sum+=i;
}}}}}}Lorem Ipsum

User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 1859
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Beta release 4.0b

Postby VilleK » Thu Apr 06, 2017 11:24 am

Indeed the compiler does not detect garbage if it comes last in the expression :). I should fix that.

User avatar
rrTea
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:54 am

Shouldn't compile?

Postby rrTea » Fri Jun 23, 2017 7:14 am

Maybe it doesn't matter if it's at the end, for example this also goes through (but nothing will be traced if you run it):

int inx,iny;
inx = 10;

} //mistake

inx += 2;
trace (intToStr(inx));

(I just found I posted something similar a long time ago:
viewtopic.php?p=8271#p8271)

User avatar
13r4nd0m
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:43 pm

Preview Window Malfunctioning

Postby 13r4nd0m » Mon Aug 07, 2017 11:50 pm

While working with shader components, I noticed the preview window showing weird stuff. The program ran correctly (with f9). After closing the project and restarting the computer, the preview window seemed to function correctly until I changed the fragmentshadersource code.

I then started a new project testing out some mesh stuff, the problem came back but this time on clicking the preview play button this error was thrown: #Access violation at address 006323A4 in module 'ZGameEditor.exe'. Read of address 00000018.
Attachments
meshProb.zgeproj
(924 Bytes) Downloaded 3 times
fragsourceProb.zgeproj
(2.45 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 1859
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Beta release 4.0b

Postby VilleK » Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:37 am

Hi, the meshproblem error is because you need a "MaterialTexture" component to tie the Material and Bitmap together. I should add a test so it gives a better error message.

See modified project below.

The other project just shows a flashing image here. Not sure what the expected result is? Please compare with the sample zgeviz shader projects to get the basic view working.

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1" ?>
<ZApplication Name="App" Caption="ZGameEditor application" FileVersion="2">
  <OnLoaded>
    <SpawnModel Model="Model1" SpawnStyle="1"/>
  </OnLoaded>
  <Content>
    <Model Name="Model1">
      <OnRender>
        <UseMaterial Material="Material1"/>
        <RenderMesh Mesh="Mesh1"/>
      </OnRender>
    </Model>
    <Material Name="Material1">
      <Textures>
        <MaterialTexture Texture="Bitmap1"/>
      </Textures>
    </Material>
    <Mesh Name="Mesh1">
      <Producers>
        <MeshSphere RadialSamples="50"/>
        <MeshNoise Scale="0.3 1 1" NoiseSpeed="1 0 1" NoiseScale="1 1 1"/>
      </Producers>
    </Mesh>
    <Bitmap Name="Bitmap1">
      <Producers>
        <BitmapNoise Octaves="9" Persistence="0.77" ZHeight="42.08" Color="1"/>
        <BitmapPixels NOfPoints="43" Color="1"/>
      </Producers>
    </Bitmap>
  </Content>
</ZApplication>

User avatar
13r4nd0m
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:43 pm

Re: Beta release 4.0b

Postby 13r4nd0m » Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:02 am

Ok, that was my mistake on the meshproblem. Thanks for the clarification.

To replicate the shader preview bug in fragsourceprob:

Preview the project. Should be some random greyscale flashing with a black bar on the right.
Stop the preview.
Comment out lines 18 - 27 in Shader1 fragmentshadersource.
Uncomment line 16 in Shader1 fragmentshadersource.
Compile.
Preview the project. Preview window should show a gradient from white to black but instead shows black.
Run the project with f9 it displays correctly.

User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 1859
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Beta release 4.0b

Postby VilleK » Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:45 am

Ok, I could reproduce that. It seems the Shader component needs the "UpdateVarsOnEachUse" property set. Try that and it should work.

User avatar
13r4nd0m
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:43 pm

Re: Beta release 4.0b

Postby 13r4nd0m » Thu Aug 10, 2017 4:11 pm

Nice! Everything works as expected. Thanks for clearing that up, it helps a lot.


Return to “Releases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest