Hot-swap Bitmap

Share your ZGE-development tips and techniques here!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Kjell
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:15 pm

Hot-swap Bitmap

Post by Kjell »

:!:

In case you're using a lot of imported images, attached is a example that swaps out the data of a imported Bitmap at run-time ( to ensure that only 1 texture resides on the GPU at once ) .. press 1 or 2 on your keyboard to load a image.

K
Attachments
Hot-swap.zgeproj
(188.95 KiB) Downloaded 729 times
User avatar
Rado1
Posts: 775
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 12:16 pm

Re: Hot-swap Bitmap

Post by Rado1 »

Nice trick to use files in this way. But are not embedded files loaded to memory as well? People would maybe appreciate runtime loading of bitmap files from file system.
User avatar
Kjell
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:15 pm

Re: Hot-swap Bitmap

Post by Kjell »

Hi Rado1,
Rado1 wrote:But are not files loaded to memory as well?
The only thing that this method does is recycle the memory allocated for a texture on the GPU.

So if you'd for instance have a slideshow of 20 Bitmaps ( 512x288 ) by simply swapping MaterialTexture.Texture .. it would use 0.6MB of GPU RAM when the slideshow starts, 1.2MB after the 2nd image has been shown and 11MB once all images have been shown. Whereas using this technique you're always using only 0.6MB.
Rado1 wrote:People would maybe appreciate runtime loading of bitmap files from file system.
Sure, you don't have to embed the file if you don't want to ;)

K
User avatar
Lupo
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:21 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Hot-swap Bitmap

Post by Lupo »

Hi,

Thanks for the example.

Would it be easy to load the bitmaps from an external file instead of embedded?
Close, but not there yet.
User avatar
Kjell
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:15 pm

Re: Hot-swap Bitmap

Post by Kjell »

Hi Lupo,
Lupo wrote: Wed Jul 22, 2020 4:30 pmWould it be easy to load the bitmaps from an external file instead of embedded?
The principle is easy .. but since ZGE doesn't have any image decoders built-in ( aside from a JPG subset ) it really depends on the image format(s) that you want to support whether or not it's easy.

K
User avatar
Lupo
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:21 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Hot-swap Bitmap

Post by Lupo »

Thanks for the answer.

I can remember the nano-jpeg embedded... I found the example project.

Thanks,
Luis.
Close, but not there yet.
Post Reply