Problems with Variable component

Found a bug? Post information about it here so we can fix it!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Rado1
Posts: 770
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 12:16 pm

Problems with Variable component

Postby Rado1 » Mon May 20, 2013 2:00 pm

1. If defined a Variable component, e.g., call it var of type int, the content assistant offers on "var." possibilities such as: ByteValue, IntValue, ManagedValue, ... but if put to the expression, e.g., var.IntValue, syntax error "Could not determine type: IntValue" occurs. Content assistant should not offer these possibilities.

2. How to assign to a variable of type vec* defined as Variable component? For instance, for var defined as vec2, var[0] returns syntax error "Identifier is not an array: ManagedValue". This is probably an error.

User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 1883
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Postby VilleK » Tue May 21, 2013 11:18 am

Hi,

The second issue is now fixed. Please download the beta again.

User avatar
Kjell
Posts: 1609
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:15 pm

Postby Kjell » Tue May 21, 2013 1:05 pm

Hej Ville,

If & when you're going to tackle the first point that Rado1 brought up, please consider looking at the suggestion i made in the Beta thread concerning the Variable component ( even though i'm aware the solution for the auto-completion "thing" doesn't have anything to do with the property panel )? :)

Kjell wrote:Would it be possible that the properties panel of the Variable component changes depending on what Type is chosen ( see attached mock-ups )? Right now only floats can be modified, and the type-specific read-only properties might confuse beginners.

Image

K

User avatar
Rado1
Posts: 770
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 12:16 pm

Postby Rado1 » Mon May 27, 2013 4:27 pm

Hi Ville, there's probably a bug in accessing vec3 variables, which sometimes throws an access violation. Try to run the attached project.
Attachments
test.zgeproj
project throwing exception
(1.08 KiB) Downloaded 108 times

User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 1883
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Postby VilleK » Tue May 28, 2013 8:05 am

Hi Rado1. Yes it was a bug. Please download the beta again.


Return to “Bug reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest