Tutorial 2 problem

Found a bug? Post information about it here so we can fix it!

Moderator: Moderators

Edson2016

Tutorial 2 problem

Post by Edson2016 »

Hi everybody. I'm studying the Tutorial 2 ("Hello World"). I'm using ZGE 4.0b in Windows 8.1.
I included the component RenderText to the OnRender node and modified the Text property (to "HELLO WORLD"); I saved the project, run it with F9. Everything was fine. I modified the name of RenderText to "MyText", but when I added the MyAnimator, I was able to modify its properties the way that Tutorial2 says to do, with one exception: the "Target" property. The cursor is inside the property box, but I'm not able to modify the text - I tried letters, numbers, symbols. I tried to copy and paste the text "MyText.Y", but it does not work. It just ignores what I type, the cursor blinks as if I had not touched the keyboard anything. Right clicking on it, the "Paste" item is disabled. Can you help with this? I tried to quit ZGE and start it again, but the problem is still there.
:| I know, maybe it's a newbie thing, but I'm really stuck.
Thanks for your attention
Kjell

Re: Tutorial 2 problem

Post by Kjell »

Hi Edson2016,

The Target property of the AnimatorSimple component has been changed from a String to a ZExpression ( allowing for more flexibility ). This means that when you select the Target property ( or simply the AnimatorSimple component ) a Code editor appears that corresponds to the Target property.

I can understand your confusion though, it doesn't make a lot of sense that you can't edit the property directly in the Properties panel .. nor does the Code editor label indicate which property it corresponds to. Hopefully this can & will be improved.

K
Edson2016

Post by Edson2016 »