Page 1 of 1

Access violation instead of syntax error

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:30 pm
by Rado1
Sometimes, access violation exception is thrown instead of normal syntax error. This does not harm editor too much, but I'm not sure about consequences, eg., sometimes I cannot build and compress project because of another access violation exception.

Here are the steps how to reproduce the problem:

1. Open new project.
2. Put a new ZExpression to Content section.
3. Type "aa" (without quotes) in the Code editor.
4. Switch style (skin).
5. Type " " after "aa" in the Code editor.
6. Press OK button -> Access violation exception appears.

Here I used switching of skins, but sometimes access violation appears also without switching skins. Unfortunately, I was not able to reproduce that case.

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 9:19 am
by VilleK
I've also seen access violations instead of syntax errors from time to time, and whenever that happens I try to fix it immediately. Let me know if that occurs and what expression cause the error.
In this particular case it is because when you switch style the whole treeview must be recreated which leaves the currently selected node invalid. I'm changing so that it will automatically leave the current selection which should solve the problem.

Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 7:14 am
by rrTea
Right now an "Access violation" pops up after clicking in the empty area of the Component palette (the one that appears in the Properties panel when for example "Content" is clicked on).

Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 7:20 am
by rrTea
Another way to get the same error is if... see video (admittedly I'm not supposed to be doing that but still, it shouldn't crash).

Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 8:38 am
by VilleK
Thanks, will be fixed in next update.