ZGE IDE on Linux natively (No Wine) - What are the problems?

All topics about ZGameEditor goes here.

Moderator: Moderators

sixman9

ZGE IDE on Linux natively (No Wine) - What are the problems?

Post by sixman9 »

Hi,
[This may have been asked before but] what would be necessary to compile ZGE's editor/IDE on Linux? Are there Windows-specific aspects to the ZGE code that might need re-writing/replacing etc.?

I'm a newbie here but really like the look of ZGE. I'm really a big Linux fan (and occasional Mac OSX user, these days), so it would be great for me, and hopefully other, if ZGE ran on Linux, natively (i.e. without Wine).

Thanks

Rich
Kjell

Re: ZGE IDE on Linux natively (No Wine) - What are the probl

Post by Kjell »

Hi sixman9,
sixman9 wrote:[This may have been asked before but] what would be necessary to compile ZGE's editor/IDE on Linux? Are there Windows-specific aspects to the ZGE code that might need re-writing/replacing etc.?
The IDE is written using CodeGear Delphi's VCL, which doesn't support Linux. A logical solution would be a re-write in Lazarus.
sixman9 wrote:I'm really a big Linux fan (and occasional Mac OSX user, these days), so it would be great for me, and hopefully other, if ZGE ran on Linux, natively (i.e. without Wine).
Agreed.

K
sixman9

Post by sixman9 »

OK Kjell, I guess that answers that one then ;-)

Although I'd love to do the following work myself, my current life won't allow me to. Maybe a more dedicated ZGE follower could find the time and interest in making ZGE editor cross-platform, I'd like to chip in my 2 cents by offering the following links:

Automatic Delphi Converter in Lazarus, supports VCL-LCL UI conversion
Code Conversion Guide
A comparison of Delphi's VCL and Lazarus LCL components