Beta release 2.0.0b

Information and change log about the latest ZGameEditor release.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 2274
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Beta release 2.0.0b

Post by VilleK »

Updated April 4, 2011.

- New "Edit project as xml" feature (for making project wide changes, better overview, search and replace etc)
- The bitmap preview panel is now larger by default
- New BitmapNoise component by Kattle
- The noise-functions in scripting now works correctly over the zero-coordinate
- Fixed bug with render text sometimes displaying garbage characters
- Fixed bug with fog not working
- DLLs are unloaded when app preview stops.
- Sine waveform for audio
- MouseWheel property on Application component to read the state of the mousewheel
- DesignDisable-property to disable component in designer
- Collisionbounds can be displayed using the new "Bounds" checkbox on the model-page
- DisableShader and DisableFBO check boxes to see what the project looks like on hardware that does not support OpenGL shaders or FBO:s
- MeshLoad-component now only refresh the source mesh when necessary
- Log2-function in scripting
- Rotation order changed from ZYX to XYZ (see discussion)
- Scripting enhancements
- Sample components

Download the beta here:

http://www.zgameeditor.org/files/ZGameEditor_beta.zip
Attachments
display collision bounds
display collision bounds
collision_bounds.png (32.29 KiB) Viewed 35159 times
xml editor
xml editor
zge_xml_editor.jpg (99.13 KiB) Viewed 35495 times
Last edited by VilleK on Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:25 am, edited 18 times in total.
User avatar
jph_wacheski
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

tile noise noise

Post by jph_wacheski »

Some more cool additions,. Noise is sweet! there seems to be an artifact in the tileing though,.
also;
Wondering if there is a way to set the fog color? I tryed adding this;

Code: Select all

void glFogfv(int Name, float Value,float Value,float Value,float Value){} 
to setup the fog color, to no avail,. . well looks cool with black for darkness anyway.
iterationGAMES.com
User avatar
Kjell
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:15 pm

Post by Kjell »

Hi jph,

There's no way to set the Fog Color through the opengl32 extension right now. The glFogfv function expects a pointer ( or object / array ) to a vector that holds the color data, so your function just passes a 128-bit pointer of which the address is incorrect.

I could have sworn I already mentioned this though :wink:

K
User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 2274
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by VilleK »

The noise-artifact was my mistake, not Kattles. Beta updated with artifact-free noise :)
User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 2274
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by VilleK »

Updated today with support for editing the current zgeproj-file directly inside designer (edit project as xml). Useful when you want to make changes that are quicker to do in text format instead of the project tree.
User avatar
jph_wacheski
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

fog fix may have broken the RenderOrder=>depthSorted ?

Post by jph_wacheski »

Cool,. the new noise is great now! The xml view may be very usefull,. and it is just cool to have it in the editor.

I think the fog fix may have broken the RenderOrder=>depthSorted on the model. See attached,. (have to look through a demon to one behind.) I tried leaving the fog off, but it still happens, in the beta the transparent parts block the background. Otherwise the fog 'darkness' addes a great deal to my little doomed project. It is shaping up nicely,. . going to work on better dungon generation,. add some ammo, health packs, etc.,. then sounds.
Attachments
doomed_006.zip
2 .exe to compare,. . (beta vs release)
(94.57 KiB) Downloaded 886 times
iterationGAMES.com
User avatar
Kjell
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:15 pm

Post by Kjell »

:)

You're right jph, it's a bug that has been caused by the camera matrix changes.

@Ville - You've commented out the solution on line 527-528 of ZApplication.pas :wink:

K
Attachments
Striker.zip
(51.54 KiB) Downloaded 932 times
User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 2274
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by VilleK »

Aha, that explains why that didn't work correctly before and I had to comment it out. Now when the camera transformation is correct the code seems to work. Beta updated.
User avatar
jph_wacheski
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by jph_wacheski »

yup'er,. works great now, thanks guys!

see; viewtopic.php?p=3620#3620
iterationGAMES.com
User avatar
jph_wacheski
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by jph_wacheski »

copy/past of text is messed up in the beta,. no ctr-c copy of text.., RMB menu works though? strange and bothersome,. :(
iterationGAMES.com
User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 2274
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by VilleK »

It occurred because I copied the "Copy"-action to the Edit-menu, I removed it from the menu and now it works again. Beta updated.
User avatar
jph_wacheski
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by jph_wacheski »

Thanks Ville, I have to use the beta for this doomed project (fog and noise) and I had no idea how much I use ctr-c ! I am lazy (efficent?) an don't type what I can just buffer,. . cheers.
iterationGAMES.com
User avatar
y offs et
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:26 pm
Location: BC, Canada

Post by y offs et »

I had no idea how much I use ctr-c ! I am lazy (efficent?) an don't type what I can just buffer,
Many, many years ago I read someones definition of a programmer, which generally stated a programmer rarely writes new code, but rather copies, pastes, and modifies. I think it sprang from the fact that few men, at the time, took typing courses and so the mechanics were a problem.
"great expectations"
User avatar
y offs et
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:26 pm
Location: BC, Canada

Post by y offs et »

(edit project as xml)
Perhaps you could put a search feature here? I'm missing it again.
"great expectations"
User avatar
Kjell
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:15 pm

Post by Kjell »

:)

@y_offs_et : Right-click in the XML window to make a drop-down menu appear that includes "Search" and "Replace".

K
Post Reply