Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

All topics about ZGameEditor goes here.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Ats
Posts: 603
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by Ats »

Results are the same with ZGE64:
BitmapCell has a different color
BitmapRect is small and black and white instead of red
Capture d’écran (245).png
Capture d’écran (245).png (17.5 KiB) Viewed 14093 times

And I tried a simple BitmapExpression which works fine on computer but crashes on Android:

Code: Select all

Pixel.R=rnd();
Pixel.G=rnd();
Pixel.B=rnd();
Pixel.A=1;
Edit: now everything crashes on android... :x
I didn't change a thing. It crashes since I tried BitmapRect.
Last edited by Ats on Fri Jun 04, 2021 1:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 2274
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by VilleK »

I don't notice any problem here. Can you please post a simple as possible zgeproj that demonstrates differences in bitmaps between 64 and 32-bit ZGE?
User avatar
Ats
Posts: 603
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by Ats »

Because of the box crate texture, test is too big to copy paste in plain text.

Edit: oh, there are no differences between 32 and 64 bits. Both are acting weird.
Attachments
GLES2Showroom_texture.zgeproj
(76.19 KiB) Downloaded 252 times
User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 2274
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by VilleK »

For the CellBitmap, my best guess so far is that since it is based on a random function, then this random function is implemented differently in Freepascal and in Delphi. So the colors end up different between runtime engine (built with Freepascal) and the designer.
User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 2274
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by VilleK »

The RectBitmap seems to have a initialization problem somehow.

Adding this in OnLoaded seems to help:

<RefreshContent Component="RectBitmap"/>
User avatar
Kjell
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:15 pm

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by Kjell »

Hi guys,

Just tried it myself using a simple ( ES 1.0 ) .zgeproj and i'm getting a different BitmapCell on Android as well ( compared to Desktop ). No problems with BitmapNoise and BitmapRect here though. However, i just had a look at the source code and BitmapRect uses legacy OpenGL calls, so it makes sense that component causes problems on ES 2.0.

@Ville: Maybe it would be smarter to go with a software-based BitmapRect implementation instead?

Image

From left-to-right .. BitmapExpression, BitmapCell, BitmapNoise and BitmapRect.

+ Here's the source:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1" ?>
<ZApplication Name="App" Caption="ZGameEditor application" ClearColor="0.5 0.5 0.5 1" FileVersion="2">
  <OnRender>
    <RenderTransformGroup Translate="-4.5 0 0">
      <Children>
        <UseMaterial Material="ColorMaterial"/>
        <RenderMesh Mesh="PlaneMesh"/>
      </Children>
    </RenderTransformGroup>
    <RenderTransformGroup Translate="-1.5 0 0">
      <Children>
        <UseMaterial Material="CellMaterial"/>
        <RenderMesh Mesh="PlaneMesh"/>
      </Children>
    </RenderTransformGroup>
    <RenderTransformGroup Translate="1.5 0 0">
      <Children>
        <UseMaterial Material="NoiseMaterial"/>
        <RenderMesh Mesh="PlaneMesh"/>
      </Children>
    </RenderTransformGroup>
    <RenderTransformGroup Translate="4.5 0 0">
      <Children>
        <UseMaterial Material="RectMaterial"/>
        <RenderMesh Mesh="PlaneMesh"/>
      </Children>
    </RenderTransformGroup>
  </OnRender>
  <Content>
    <Mesh Name="PlaneMesh">
      <Producers>
        <MeshBox Grid2DOnly="255"/>
      </Producers>
    </Mesh>
    <Bitmap Name="ColorBitmap">
      <Producers>
        <BitmapExpression>
          <Expression>
<![CDATA[//

Pixel.R = X;
Pixel.G = Y;
Pixel.B = 1-Y;]]>
          </Expression>
        </BitmapExpression>
      </Producers>
    </Bitmap>
    <Material Name="ColorMaterial" Shading="1" Light="0" ZBuffer="0">
      <Textures>
        <MaterialTexture Texture="ColorBitmap" TextureWrapMode="2" TexCoords="1"/>
      </Textures>
    </Material>
    <Bitmap Name="CellBitmap">
      <Producers>
        <BitmapCells RandomSeed="8" BorderPixels="0" PointCount="8"/>
      </Producers>
    </Bitmap>
    <Material Name="CellMaterial" Shading="1" Light="0" ZBuffer="0">
      <Textures>
        <MaterialTexture Texture="CellBitmap" TextureWrapMode="2" TexCoords="1"/>
      </Textures>
    </Material>
    <Bitmap Name="NoiseBitmap">
      <Producers>
        <BitmapNoise/>
      </Producers>
    </Bitmap>
    <Material Name="NoiseMaterial" Shading="1" Light="0" ZBuffer="0">
      <Textures>
        <MaterialTexture Texture="NoiseBitmap" TextureWrapMode="1" TexCoords="1"/>
      </Textures>
    </Material>
    <Bitmap Name="RectBitmap">
      <Producers>
        <BitmapRect Color="1 0.502 0.251 1" Size="-1 1 1 0"/>
      </Producers>
    </Bitmap>
    <Material Name="RectMaterial" Shading="1" Light="0" ZBuffer="0">
      <Textures>
        <MaterialTexture Texture="RectBitmap" TextureWrapMode="1" TexCoords="1"/>
      </Textures>
    </Material>
  </Content>
</ZApplication>
K
User avatar
Ats
Posts: 603
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by Ats »

Ah! That's what I thought. Try with GLBase: ES2/GL3 and a shader to display your bitmaps. You'll see the problems :)

Also, with your example, I get your desktop cell shape/color on preview mode, and your android cell on build and run.
User avatar
Kjell
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:15 pm

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by Kjell »

Hi Ats,
Ats wrote: Fri Jun 04, 2021 3:15 pmAlso, with your example, I get your desktop cell shape/color on preview mode, and your android cell on build and run.
Same here, which is problematic .. you don't want your preview to look different from your standalone builds. However, i do get the same BitmapCells result as in the editor / preview when building a Windows standalone using a older ZGE Beta. Maybe this is in fact a 64-bit problem?
Ats wrote: Fri Jun 04, 2021 3:15 pmTry with GLBase: ES2/GL3 and a shader to display your bitmaps.
Here's the GL3/ES2 version:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1" ?>
<ZApplication Name="App" Caption="ZGameEditor application" GLBase="1" ClearColor="0.5 0.5 0.5 1" FileVersion="2">
  <OnRender>
    <RenderTransformGroup Translate="-4.5 0 0">
      <Children>
        <UseMaterial Material="ColorMaterial"/>
        <RenderMesh Mesh="PlaneMesh"/>
      </Children>
    </RenderTransformGroup>
    <RenderTransformGroup Translate="-1.5 0 0">
      <Children>
        <UseMaterial Material="CellMaterial"/>
        <RenderMesh Mesh="PlaneMesh"/>
      </Children>
    </RenderTransformGroup>
    <RenderTransformGroup Translate="1.5 0 0">
      <Children>
        <UseMaterial Material="NoiseMaterial"/>
        <RenderMesh Mesh="PlaneMesh"/>
      </Children>
    </RenderTransformGroup>
    <RenderTransformGroup Translate="4.5 0 0">
      <Children>
        <UseMaterial Material="RectMaterial"/>
        <RenderMesh Mesh="PlaneMesh"/>
      </Children>
    </RenderTransformGroup>
  </OnRender>
  <Content>
    <Mesh Name="PlaneMesh">
      <Producers>
        <MeshBox Grid2DOnly="255"/>
      </Producers>
    </Mesh>
    <Shader Name="PlaneShader">
      <VertexShaderSource>
<![CDATA[#ifdef GL_ES
  precision mediump float;
#endif

uniform mat4 modelViewProjectionMatrix;
attribute vec3 position;
attribute vec2 texCoord;
varying vec2 t;

void main()
{
  gl_Position = modelViewProjectionMatrix * vec4(position, 1.0);
  t = texCoord;
}]]>
      </VertexShaderSource>
      <FragmentShaderSource>
<![CDATA[#ifdef GL_ES
  precision mediump float;
#endif

uniform sampler2D tex1;
varying vec2 t;

void main()
{
  gl_FragColor = vec4(texture2D(tex1, t).rgb, 1.0);
}]]>
      </FragmentShaderSource>
    </Shader>
    <Bitmap Name="ColorBitmap">
      <Producers>
        <BitmapExpression>
          <Expression>
<![CDATA[//

Pixel.R = X;
Pixel.G = Y;
Pixel.B = 1-Y;]]>
          </Expression>
        </BitmapExpression>
      </Producers>
    </Bitmap>
    <Material Name="ColorMaterial" Shading="1" Light="0" ZBuffer="0" Shader="PlaneShader">
      <Textures>
        <MaterialTexture Texture="ColorBitmap" TextureWrapMode="2" TexCoords="1"/>
      </Textures>
    </Material>
    <Bitmap Name="CellBitmap">
      <Producers>
        <BitmapCells RandomSeed="8" BorderPixels="0" PointCount="8"/>
      </Producers>
    </Bitmap>
    <Material Name="CellMaterial" Shading="1" Light="0" ZBuffer="0" Shader="PlaneShader">
      <Textures>
        <MaterialTexture Texture="CellBitmap" TextureWrapMode="2" TexCoords="1"/>
      </Textures>
    </Material>
    <Bitmap Name="NoiseBitmap">
      <Producers>
        <BitmapNoise/>
      </Producers>
    </Bitmap>
    <Material Name="NoiseMaterial" Shading="1" Light="0" ZBuffer="0" Shader="PlaneShader">
      <Textures>
        <MaterialTexture Texture="NoiseBitmap" TextureWrapMode="1" TexCoords="1"/>
      </Textures>
    </Material>
    <Bitmap Name="RectBitmap">
      <Producers>
        <BitmapRect Color="1 0.502 0.251 1" Size="-1 1 1 0"/>
      </Producers>
    </Bitmap>
    <Material Name="RectMaterial" Shading="1" Light="0" ZBuffer="0" Shader="PlaneShader">
      <Textures>
        <MaterialTexture Texture="RectBitmap" TextureWrapMode="1" TexCoords="1"/>
      </Textures>
    </Material>
  </Content>
</ZApplication>
Image

Noise still works for me, but as predicted / mentioned BitmapRect doesn't work properly due to legacy OpenGL calls in the source code.

K
User avatar
Ats
Posts: 603
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by Ats »

Wow. I'm on the phone right now, but I'll definitely take a look at how you managed to do that when I'll get back home !
User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 2274
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by VilleK »

I won't have time to investigate this weekend but I'll look at it next week. Please post any more clues if you find any.
User avatar
rrTea
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:54 am

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by rrTea »

Another component that causes same effects as BitmapRect is BitmapZoomRotate. It was reported ages ago, don't remember in which context.
User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 2274
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by VilleK »

rrTea wrote: Sun Jun 06, 2021 1:26 pm Another component that causes same effects as BitmapRect is BitmapZoomRotate. It was reported ages ago, don't remember in which context.
Indeed. I should do as Kjell suggested and rewrite them for the CPU instead of GPU.
User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 2274
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by VilleK »

I committed some changes. The textures in this thread should now look the same on all platforms. New build here: http://www.zgameeditor.org/files/ZGameEditor_beta.zip
User avatar
Ats
Posts: 603
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by Ats »

It works perfectly, thanks :wink:
Now I need to strip down my shader project in order to find what is causing the crash at start on Android.

Edit:
Found it. The problem was coming from the openGL initialization because I deactivated a few lines for testing. But written like that, it still crashes on Windows because it manages to return true for the ANDROID test. I'm quite sure this was working before. Maybe before the 64bits or Classes in scripting upgrade?

Code: Select all

if (ANDROID)
{
  trace("ANDROID");
  if(App.GLBase==0) this.ModuleName="libGLESv1_CM.so";
  else this.ModuleName="libGLESv2.so";
}
else if (LINUX)
{
  trace("LINUX");
  this.ModuleName = "libGL.so";
}
else
{
  trace("WINDOWS");
  this.ModuleName = "opengl32";
}
Edit 2:
On Android, BitmapCells is still blueish and BitmapRect isn't working (everything is black)
Last edited by Ats on Tue Jun 08, 2021 9:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
VilleK
Site Admin
Posts: 2274
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Questions about ES2/GL3 shaders

Post by VilleK »

Did you try building the Android runtime from latest ZGE sources? I forgot to do so in the zip.

I'll check why the android-constant behave strange.
Post Reply