startup question

All topics about ZGameEditor goes here.

Moderator: Moderators

kesmanu24

startup question

Post by kesmanu24 »

Hi Community! :D

I am new to ZGE and i find myself enjoying it very much.
I have a few questions to get me up and running faster.

1. If i want to create different levels, would each level be a different state or how would i go about loading just the asset necessary to the level.
2. How can i switch camera view after i created the cameras using ZExpression?
3. Where can i learn more about some ZExpression commands?
4. Does ZGE support mesh animation from other softwares?

Thanks.
Kjell

Re: startup question

Post by Kjell »

Hi kesmanu24,
kesmanu24 wrote:If i want to create different levels, would each level be a different state or how would i go about loading just the asset necessary to the level.
Since ZGameEditor produces a single file ( only a executable ) from your project, all assets ( Bitmap / Sample / Mesh ) are always in the memory. The only way around this is to use the File component.
kesmanu24 wrote:How can i switch camera view after i created the cameras using ZExpression?
You cannot create a Camera from a ZExpression. The Camera variable type is only used for being able to reference a existing Camera component.
kesmanu24 wrote:Where can i learn more about some ZExpression commands?
Over here .. although the documentation isn't up-to-date :( Information on recently features can be found here and here.
kesmanu24 wrote:Does ZGE support mesh animation from other softwares?
Unfortunately not. There's only support for importing static meshes ( 3ds files ) build-in the editor.

K
kesmanu24

Re: startup question

Post by kesmanu24 »

After playing around more in the editor I still can`t seem to get how the file component works. I am interested in loading image files and 3ds models using a different and not to be loaded in with the .exe

Could you explain more about the file compoente.....
Kjell

Post by Kjell »

Hi kasmanu24,